Making Lemonade and Bubbles


Sometimes life gives you lemons. We’ve all heard this expression before. Last year right before I stopped writing for a very long time, life gave me so many lemons that if I made lemonade with them, I would have drowned.

I’m not sure how life could have gotten more complicated than it already was, but somehow it did. Then I lost my big clients, and in the world of freelancing, that means I basically lost my job. But then, for the first time in my life, I was having a hard time finding another job. I was confused and frustrated, and all of my extracurricular activities such as dating and going out with friends came to a halt.

Somehow through this mess of my life, I had no other choice but to slowly start juicing those lemons, one at a time. And one day, I realized my hard work paid off. In the midst of a huge life crisis, I was utterly happy.

I was so happy, in fact, that I never wanted to lose this happiness. As my life started to come back together in the following months, I built myself a bubble to protect me from the outside world.

girl in bubbleI was the bubble girl, completely at peace as long as the troubles of the outside world never touched me. I lived like this for months, reading and writing and meditating and doing yoga and tai chi, and napping in the sun. I don’t recall a time ever feeling this in touch with myself.

So surely this was what true happiness was like, and what we all strive for, right? Well I was about to get a harsh lesson otherwise.

Leave a Reply

