Someone Like Me


You know that song I’m talking about…the one that haunts you when you’re single, lonely and heartbroken. You get in the car and the radio blares out the words, “nevermind I’ll find someone like you…” and in a moment of vulnerability, you burst into tears, and spend the rest of the car ride to work trying to pull yourself together.

adele someone like you funny ecard

This has happened to me maybe a million times, okay I’m exaggerating, but only a little, or so it seems. I also know I’m not the only one that is this seriously affected by this song. I think it was last year I was at a New Years party, and the naive dj decided to put this song on in the middle of a drunk dance fest. Within the first few notes of the song, the entire dance floor was booing and flipping off a surprised dj who, dumbfounded, explained, “I thought everyone loved this song??” Well, we do, but it is more of a love-hate relationship. The biting, unapologetic truth in this song is what makes us all bitter-sweet.

About two years ago I found the love of my life. (So I say this a lot, but actually it’s only happened to me twice, and most of my posts are about only these two people). We dated on and off for about a year and a half, but it never worked out for many reasons, but mainly we were never in the right mind frame at the same time. We never were actually in a relationship, technically, according to society. Our hearts were in a lot deeper relationship than that…or at least mine was. But still, love was not enough in this case.

funny breakup ecard

A couple of months ago I found out that he moved on. I tried to move on since him, but never actually could, no matter how much I tried and thought I liked the guy I was currently with. I finally made peace with this fact, and then I found out the devastating fact that he had moved and was in a solid relationship with someone else.

Of course I did what any other girl would do in my situation, I stalked them on the internet. So I went through all their Facebook photos together, read everything I could about their relationship together via the limited access I had since I was not friends with either of them. It was a very long, pathetic night. I was so heartbroken, I wasn’t even upset, I was just shocked.

someone better than you funny ecard

I think that if she had blonde hair, brown eyes, was a surfer and a painter, I would have learned to accept it. That is, if she was completely the opposite of me. That means, that in the end, I was never his type and it would have never worked out. However, she was none of these things. She looks almost exactly like me, has my same profession and seemingly personality and even went to the same school. She is someone like me…but not me.

Which leaves the burning question of why was it not me instead of someone like me, and crushes me every time I hear that damn song…

I heard that you’re settled down
That you found a girl and you’re married now
I heard that your dreams came true
‘Cause she gave you things I didn’t give to you

Old friend, why are you so shy?
Ain’t like you to hold back or hide from the light

I hate to turn up out of the blue, uninvited
But I couldn’t stay away, I couldn’t fight it
I had hoped you’d see my face and that you’d be reminded
That for me, it isn’t over

Never mind, I’ll find someone like you
I wish nothing but the best for you, too
Don’t forget me, I beg, I remember you said
Sometimes it lasts in love, but sometimes it hurts instead
Sometimes it lasts in love, but sometimes it hurts instead

You know how the time flies
Only yesterday was the time of our lives
We were born and raised in a summer haze
Bound by the surprise of our glory days

I hate to turn up out of the blue, uninvited
But I couldn’t stay away, I couldn’t fight it
I had hoped you’d see my face and that you’d be reminded
That for me, it isn’t over yet

Never mind, I’ll find someone like you
I wish nothing but the best for you, too
Don’t forget me, I beg, I remember you said
Sometimes it lasts in love, but sometimes it hurts instead, yeah

Nothing compares, no worries or cares
Regrets and mistakes, they’re memories made
Who would have known how bittersweet this would taste?

Never mind, I’ll find someone like you
I wish nothing but the best for you
Don’t forget me, I beg, I remember you said
Sometimes it lasts in love, but sometimes it hurts instead

Never mind, I’ll find someone like you
I wish nothing but the best for you, too
Don’t forget me, I beg, I remember you said
Sometimes it lasts in love, but sometimes it hurts instead

-Adele

One thought on “Someone Like Me

  1. The same thing happened to me except the new girl is the kind he always said wasn’t his type. She is not even attractive. Well that’s life for you. You think you know someone but you really don’t. Here I am single as always. Sometimes I feel I’ve been single my entire life.

Leave a Reply

