Mad Women


Inspired by last night’s season premiere of Mad Men and now relieved by my negative pregnancy test, I am going to discuss my new thoughts on dating.

Mad Men Joan sexual female

Joan is the primal sexual woman

People love this show because it is how men and women used to be in their roles as the stereotypical men and women. Because of feminism (which don’t get  me wrong, is a wonderful thing) women are now expected to be at the same level as men. This is great for our career and our individualism. However, when it comes to dating something is off. We are stuck in the aftermath of this earlier generation in which women were only measured up to the extend of our wombs. Our families want us to produce children; society wants us to work. Women and men are therefore confused when it comes to dating. Do we date to find an equal partner or do we date to find a suitable genetic mate?

Women in the Mad Men days were primal creatures that were able to be used for sex and to get pregnant. That was our purpose as a female, and that made us raw and primal. There was no birth control to stop this from happening when the men decided to pull our hair back and make love to us. We had no control and therefore were prisoners of our function.

With the emergence of birth control came our freedom from this purpose and gave us back control. Now we share control, or at least have the ability to fight for it. The issue is that when it comes to dating, our bodies want us to be women but our heads want us to be men-women. We want to be equal with men, and that’s what we get while dating. Men are becoming more and more….well…soft. They are getting overcast by the surge of powerful women. This is why when there is a show like Mad Men, all of us women are drooling over Don Draper. He is the epitome of a primal man. And whether we like it or not where sex is concerned, our bodies want to be primal and make hot, primal love to a primal male.

Don Draper the ultimate male

Don Draper is the ultimate primal male

Okay, okay, so maybe I’m projecting my own fantasies of being dominated by him…but I am telling you the more I talk to my girlfriends and the more dating stories I hear lately, the more I think modern men are becoming soft. When a woman was pregnant back in Mad Men days, she was sexy and beautiful, whether she was single or not. If a woman is pregnant or has children now, she is a burden because she cannot carry half the weight as women are expected to now. We have in essence shot ourselves in the foot. Now our primal function is a burden and we are no longer primal and sexy when we have baby-making curves like Joan.

Deep down I think our primal urges are there, we have just suppressed them and a show like Mad Men brings them out in the open. As for me, I fell into my primal role as a female with the scare of a pregnancy. My ticking biological clock became vividly apparent for me. And now that I feel the urge…the primal urge… the more I long for my Don Draper.

2 thoughts on “Mad Women

  1. I totally understand the fantasies of the bedroom and think this is a really worthwhile topic, but do remember that this is a TV show. That is, when women were pregnant back then, they were not seen as sexy and beautiful, and if they were single and pregnant they were to be ashamed and ostracized. You see some hint to the attitude that women declined drastically when they become mothers, when Pete complains about his wife coming to the train station in her.

  2. Just want to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clarity in your post is simply great and i can assume you are an expert on this subject.
    Well with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post.

    Thanks a million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

Leave a Reply

