Initiation


Hazing

You’re not really, truly single until you’ve gone through initiation.

Initiation is much like other rites of passage. Taking hazing for example. Some kid lost his testicle from a wedgie-gone-wrong in one of many hazing horror stories.

Horror stories are all too common during rites of passage, and initiation into single life comes complete with its own set of painful experiences in order to prove you are worthy enough to truly be single.

Celebrated for being single

My Initiation

When I first become a single girl, I was celebrated. I had so many options ahead of me, the future is bright and the birds were singing. I was perfectly content without a man…until the dreaded… the initiation day.

On this day, your world falls apart and the entire picture shatters. You realize the depth of your loneliness; how truly alone you are. This realization can come about in many different ways. For me, it was the flu. That weekend, my friends and I had planned an elaborate girls’ weekend away. We had our hotel booked and our bags packed. We were ready to take off and party.

The day before the trip, I woke up and couldn’t move my body…I knew almost instantly I was in for it. It was the worst flu I’ve had in a long time…probably a result of the alcohol from all the newly single celebrations. So, there I was, alone

Sick in bed with the flu

in my apartment with all of my friends out of town and no one else to turn to. I couldn’t move. All I wanted was someone to come to my rescue. I longed for the days when my boyfriend would run up the stairs and dote on me when he knew I was really in need. Those were the times I missed most and I didn’t even care that I would hate myself later for feeling like this. My body hurt from being sick and I hurt on the inside. This is the first time I truly missed being in a relationship and for the first time I understood the true meaning of being single.

This…was my initiation.

Since then, I’ve had many more lonely times, but I learned how to survive thanks to my girlfriends who have been by my side through it all.

And so… begins initiation into the single girls’ guide to survival.

Leave a Reply

